Hiking Le Pouce with my new camera

It was my birthday not long ago and I got this awesome treat and spend the week-end at The Residence, a hotel on the East Coast. I also got a huge cake with a picture of a camera on the top as decoration. The idea was I had to wait another 6 weeks to our holidays to get my birthday pressy: a new camera. I have been taking pictures with my phones over the years, because a dslr and toddlers well it makes things a little harder. But now I have started blogging again and I really wished for a new camera.

I had set my heart on a Fuji X100F. But we don’t do Fuji on the island, hence the needed wait. But then even if I am in my ahem, early forties (how did that happen?!), well I have the heart and the soul of a child and I could not wait anymore. One day, the week after my birthday, I stopped at a shop and got myself a camera. I know, childish behaviour. My husband frowned, my friends laughed, the kids were just excited: a new toy.

I bought a Canon 700D, in the price range I was prepared to spend it was the best I could get. Such things tend to be more expensive in Mauritius. A couple of lenses and a bag later and I was ready to take some, hopefully, better pictures.

The next day, we climbed the Pouce, or tried at least, we didn’t quite make it to the top. But still the small hiking excursion was fun.

IMG_5720
Moka Range

This is the Moka range and the Pouce (the Thumb) is to the left. The Pouce is the third highest mountain on the island at 812m. Only Piton de la Petite Rivière Noire and Pieter Both are taller. Pieter Both is the peak completely to the right on the picture above. The Pouce is also the easiest of the 3 to hike – small children from 5 can do it (with a little help from the parents). The range is located in the central part of the island, just overlooking Port Louis.

The start of the hike is in the middle of the sugar cane fields, in the little town of St Pierre. Here is our little group starting the ascent.

The trail is not really marked, but there really only is one way, so it’s ok. I like the hike very much because it is very diverse – through forests, over small plateaux.

View from trail, Hike to Le Pouce, Mauritius

The flora is very varied, with some beautiful flowers and lots of goyaves de chine, a little fruit that the Mauritian love – they were not ripe yet, unfortunately. Fauna not so much, we did see a paille en queue though, the white-tailed tropic bird.

We stopped before we arrived to the top. My kiddos 1 fell and scratch herself quite badly. She was ok, but she kind of didn’t think it was so much fun anymore – it was also already near 4pm, and the last bit is quite steep again, so I think we would have ended walking down a bit a dusk – and it was a bit too slippery for that. Things always take a bit longer when kids are involved.

‘Don’t Let our mountain become your dump’ – There was a whole area with signs like these. Mauritians are really bad at not picking up their trash and some are getting really fed up with the lack of civic behaviour. It’s a good thing – the mentalities need to change.

The view even from where we stopped were gorgeous, but we didn’t get to see the Northern part of the island. It is said you can see all the coast as well as the satellite islands of Gunnar’s Quoin, Round Island. That will have to be for next time.

Mountains of Mauritius
Towards the South

 

SaveSave

22 thoughts on “Hiking Le Pouce with my new camera

  1. Wow – looks stunning! And the camera seems to be a perfect fit – lovely images! I love the idea of gentle reminders to explore this beautiful hike sustainably – pack in, pack out! Thanks for sharing with #FarawayFiles, Erin

    Like

    1. Yes my new exploring companion is a pretty good fit! 🙂 sustainability and Mauritius are unfortunately 2 words far from each other. They want the country to grow but copy the wrong countries… they should look at Europe instead they copy Indian :/

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes love my camera!! Just need a couple of more lenses to play with and i’ll be q very happy girl 🙂 We live in a beautiful spot! Thx for coming by 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

