Expat life: What I really miss!

A couple of months ago, a friend of my mother-in-law’s was leaving for the UK and she very kindly asked me if there was a little something she could bring back for me. I thought about it and couldn’t find anything that I needed. Then suddenly I knew: a Sainsbury’s cooking magazine.

Sainbury's baking magazine
Sainbury’s

The magazines are a bit old now (it doesn’t really matter) but I got them today and it made me so happy!

It got me thinking; from all the places where I have lived, what do I really miss. I am not talking friends and family. I am talking about things that I could get in these places or had there and I can’t get anywhere else, well not in the same way at least.

From Home-home, as the country where I was born, Denmark – I moved when I was 5, so I really cannot say. There are lots of things that I love, but nothing I can remember from before we moved. I was just too small, so will leave it out.

From my adopted home, South of France.

Markets. Without any doubts. I miss the smells and the produce. The ambiance and simply the whole experience of going to the market.

Market in Provence
Market in Provence – July 2007

Close to where I grew up, the Sunday market of Le Muy is great, specially during the summer time. But we would drive 120km to Nice to go to the market or even further on Fridays, cross the boarder and make the drive to Ventimiglia.

Vintimille
Vintimiglia – July 2007

From Switzerland. I spend 5 years there, studying. First in Montreux, then Glion and Bulle. What can I say? Cheese! haha but then I had a room-mate who would make cheese fondu ALL-THE-TIME in our room and to be honest it would stink! Haven’t had fondu since. Still love her though!

Fondue moitie-moitie

So it has to be the splendid views from our school… if I could bring that with me I would!

View from Glion Hotel School, Glion
View from Glion – Nov 2006
From L.A – well really I don’t know! I don’t think there has been one thing over the years that I have ever really missed. My drives to Vegas?

From England. That’s what triggered this post! So it has to be my cooking magazines.

Amman, Jordan. There are 2 things I really miss.

Silsal shop, Amman
– my old blog!

The ceramics shop. There were so many places you could get some really nice ceramics. Vases, bowls, decorations. This place, Silsal, was one of the posher ones. In the back of the shop they used to have the rejects and I got quite a few things from there. This is practically art! Just so beautiful.

Food! of course. While it isn’t Jordanian food, there was a restaurant we used to go to in Madaba, a city 20km south of Amman. Some of their dishes I can still taste them in my mouth. Yes, seriously.

From Bali. I could say food again (I dream about it and any Indonisian would agree). Just because well the things you eat in these places, your taste evolves around them and then becomes part of you! But, Bali is really about spirituality. Everyone there believes in spirits, religion has a huge place in their life. Well, it becomes part of your daily life, a bit like the food.

From the Maldives. The nature. The fauna, the islands. Everything is just so beautiful. This picture is from my first ever parasailing experience and yes, we lived there.

Resort in the Maldives
North Ari Atoll, Dec 2014
Hanifaru Bay
My most amazing wildlife experience ever! – May 2015, Hanifaru Bay, Baa Atoll

Well, I suppose if I put all these things together I get the perfect spot!

Then Mauritius, of course. But we are still here at the moment….

The one thing all these places have in common are their differences. I loved the different cultures and religions, the environments and more important the different people I met. They all have a special place in my heart. I don’t think any other lifestyle would bring me this.


These are not all the places I have lived, but let’s say the countries at least. It is strange to look back and see my life in a few shots.

 

26 thoughts on “Expat life: What I really miss!

      1. A year ago. We were only there for 18mths but we loved it. SA is great too but there was definitely something special about being in that part of the world. Loved the Deas Sea and going over to Eilat in Israel. Did u go there?

        Like

Thanks for your comments!

