Recipe: Whole wheat banana muffins

Have you ever tried to bake muffins without eggs? or any other cakes for that matter? Well I nearly did today… and it was not one of my finest moments in the kitchen!

I some how ended up with far more bananas that we could eat – being away over the week end – and they tend to ripen really fast here. So I asked the kids if they wanted banana bread (my favourite) but no, they prefer muffins, I was told. Probably something to do with it being easier to eat.

I had tried a recipe with wheat bran, a couple of months back, but you really need buttermilk to make them, otherwise I find them too heavy, so I thought I’d twist my recipe a little and bake them just with whole wheat and all purpose flour.

So here I am, redoing my recipe, preparing all the ingredients (including the eggs), scribbling the recipe, taking pictures, wanting to do it a different way than usual, aligning my muffin holders so the colours mix nicely.

I put the dough in the last muffin holder. I step on the dog – he somehow always lays exactly where I walk. I turn around to tell him that I am so so sorry. I see the bowl, with the beaten eggs.

Now I really try not to swear too much, it’s a bad habit and the kids always pick up on it, but a couple not-so-polite-words did fly out of my mouth. At least the kids are at school.

Then it became messy, had to empty the holders, put all the dough back in a bowl, mix in the eggs in and redo the whole thing again.

You want my advice? don’t forget the eggs!

The muffins taste the same, really, but the texture is not very good. I am sure my kiddos will still eat them – kids seem very untouched by such things. But well the mammy here is not so impressed: they have gone much more elastic that what I usually make. The recipe below is fine though, promise! Just DO NOT FORGET THE EGGS!

The ingredients I used:

2 large eggs (130g – just because I often cannot get large eggs, but still need the same quantity)
2/3 cup light brown sugar
350g mashed very ripe ripe banana
1 cup plain yogurt, lowfat
1/3 cup veg oil (or coconut or almond or even light olive oil)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt

How I (usually) do it. 

Oven on 200c. Bake for 20min or so.

step 1: whisk eggs and sugar. add the bananas, yogurt, oil, vanilla extract.

step 2: in a separate bowl, mix flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

step 3: make a well and add the banana mix to the flour mix. Do not over do this, just make sure that it is mixed nicely – otherwise the muffins become very heavy.

step 4: put in the muffin holders and in the oven.

Et Voilà! Well you know, nearly!

IMG_7882

 

 

One thought on “Recipe: Whole wheat banana muffins

Leave a Reply

