Friday morning coffee

With kids back to school, am back to my weekly routine. Friday for me means hanging around waiting for the morning to go by – the kids only have half day and finish at noon, so I don’t have the time to drive back home. Friday morning also means I sleep 20 minutes more, because I don’t need to pack their lunch. Yay!

One day the kiddos came home from catechism and Kiddos 1 said: ‘Ms I. told us today that God creates rainbows. But that’s not really true, is it mummy?’ with a puzzled look. She continues by explaining to me how and why we have rainbows. Clever girl. I tell her of course she is right that God does not really create rainbows and that her teacher was probably trying to explain to her that God is everywhere… More puzzled looks. Am not very good at explaining religion – probably because I don’t really understand it myself, so we just left it there.

Mauritius is rainbow heaven at this time of the year – I remember last year every morning when we would drive to school there were rainbows. a beautiful sight! This morning we had rainbows all the way with us for 40km. Kiddos 1 then said to me: ‘you know mummy, maybe Ms I. is right and it is God who makes the rainbows; they are so pretty – like telling us we are going to have a nice day’.

IMG_7394

In the Maldives, once in a while I would realise that really even though it was cool to live on a small island and all, it really wasn’t always that easy to be far away from everything and everybody. I would then go snorkelling, diving, jump on a boat or just sit on the beach and enjoy the views – reminding myself that really I had no reason to complain. And there was one sight that would always give me the sign that everything would be ok: a bit like the rainbow, I suppose. Dolphins. Whenever I would see dolphins my mood would cheer up.

10408861_914193495311527_2361743765945860879_n

I got far from my Friday routine! Memories have a strange way of sneaking in on you, like that.

Well, sometimes I drive to Port Louis, though I haven’t done that for a while. Usually I start at Bagatelle Mall and get a large cup of coffee. Drinking coffee has suddenly become fashionable in Mauritius and lots of coffee-drinking-places have opened. I like Vida e caffé: for the coffee of course but also for the service: a happy bunch of young people. It opens at 8:30 and you always have loud music and big smiles.

IMG_7395IMG_7397

Oh! By the way I don’t usually take pictures on the road, but we were all stopped behind a truck – one of the pleasures of driving on the roads in Mauritius – you never quite know why people suddenly stop.

That leaves me with another 3 hours to kill… a bit of shopping, read a book, get a snack and maybe a foot reflexology are all options! These are my lazy 4 hours of the week. I really enjoy them.

3 thoughts on “Friday morning coffee

  1. Pingback: Chinese Heritage – Wandering Expat Family

Leave a Reply

