A strange day

Pfff am not getting any thing done with my writing today. Probably because I have stuff on my mind and it isn’t going anywhere. 

I have been trying to work on a post about a Tamil festival that was happening yesterday. I went to have a look at a temple and today I realised that I was missing a picture or two.  So I went back. 

I parked the car a bit away from the temple because I wanted a picture of the whole place. I am so ‘off’ that I left the door of the car ajar, with my handbag and everything. Not realising, I went for another walk around the temple and came back to find a guy standing next to my car. “Madame, you left your door open, so I closed it for you”. “Better check you purse, Madame, if you wish”. I decided to trust him and didn’t check.

I haven’t been able to concentrate today. Of course there is a reason for that. The month of may is a bit of a weird one for me, for many different reasons. One of the reasons is today. 
My first girlfriend I made when we moved to France was named Stephanie and her birthday was today. Today she would have been 41, just like me in 10 days. She died in a car accident 20-something years ago, not long before her 20th birthday or was it 19? Doesn’t really matter. She was apparently driving a bit too fast and left the road on one of these pretty but dangerous roads over Cannes one evening in February. I didn’t know about it, till I read it in the papers. I still remember the incredulity, how sick I felt when I read it. I was sitting in my mums kitchen, home on holidays or on week-end.  

We were not particularly close anymore when it happened – different schools had slowly taken us apart and at that time I had moved from the village already. Yet there hasn’t been a year when I am not thinking of her. 

7 thoughts on “A strange day

  1. Oh I’m so sorry for your loss of a friend. It must have’been terrible.Death is something real and we all need to deal with it.
    Sending you some warm thoughts & hugs.
    Take care while you drive Sweet Mama!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Hindu Temple in Mauritius: Sagar Shiv Mandir – Wandering Expat Family

Thanks for your comments!

