Another month and a crepe for lunch

Another month is starting and on the little island it seems that winter has taken over early. 3rd day of gloom, with heavy rains, winds and angry ocean. It is also the last day of school holidays – tomorrow we hit the road again. sigh. I am one of these mums who like to have their kids at home – I really don’t mind the holidays! I guess it has something to do with how close we got when we lived in the Maldives – there wasn’t much to do on the small islands, so we got used to hang out the 3 of us, a lot, while daddy was working. Now with the kids at school the whole day, I miss them a lot.

12113404_1042713605792848_8631243519361259673_o
The photographer from the hotel we used to live on in the Maldives took this, I love it! 

For the last morning, I thought it would be nice to make crepes. I like them thin use the recipe we used as a kid, when I’d make pandekager with my dad. It was the thing we would do once in a while on a Sunday afternoon, I loved it. We would make a huge portion and be in the kitchen for what I remember as hours.

How I do it!

  • 3 eggs
  • 3dl milk (I use semi skimmed) and 2-3dl water – you can also do all milk if preferred
  • 3dl-3.5dl flour (all purpose)
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of sugar
  • 30g of butter
  • optional: lemon rind or orange rind for another twist

I always use a handheld mixer, it’s faster that way!

  • mix the eggs
  • add half the flour
  • continue to add milk/water and flour making sure everything is nicely mixed – the dough needs to be smooth and light
  • add salt and sugar
  • melt the butter on a crepes pan and add to the dough
  • check the consistency of the dough, adding more liquid if needed
  • cook over medium heat – more or less 1 min on each side.

The last one is always for me!  Since I was kid, I like to make the funny shape.

I like my ‘pandekager’ with strawberry jam and sugar – like when I was kid! The children love with chocolate spread, sugar or just plain. We also do the lemon juice and sugar – a very french way. They are very versatile and not sweet so can also be eaten savoury as well – with ham, mushrooms and fried egg, or with creamy spinach for example.

IMG_7140
My lunch! – crèpe with ham, fried egg, tomato and herbs – a bit of red chilli on the side

Other than that May is going to be quiet in the family – a part from my birthday, hip hip hurra – haha nah not really, it’s never the big thing anymore! I do like cake though, so hopefully I get a nice one. That’s the thing when you are a mum, nobody really takes care of that kind of thing for you, so it isn’t a surprise anymore. Unless my mum comes and makes one for me. Danish birthday cake – a ‘lagkage’ oh wow! haven’t had one like that for decades… it’s layers of thin sponge cake, crunched makroner (a traditional macaron  made with almond, sugar and egg), a type of custard, jam and whipped cream. And flags – Danish flags. Otherwise it doesn’t taste the same…

cake and muffin 020 - 1200 by 900blog
Source: Scandinavian Cooking Show

 

7 thoughts on “Another month and a crepe for lunch

Leave a Reply

