Little hamper from Mauritius

A few weeks ago, I posted about goodies we got sent from Reunion Island. We are going to visit a few friends while we are there so today I went to Chateau de Labourdonnais to get a few things. I will post about this place in the future, but just wanted to tell you about their little shop.

Today was a very rainy day, even in the north of the island! But the place is beautiful, a big garden with mango trees and other botanics and of course the colonial house – as a little teaser!

So the shop…


They sell things produced by the estate: these are expensive, but of very good quality. Then, they sell many other decoration things, some at an ok price tag, I saw a tray I should have bought today!! And then they sell other things (made in Indonesia) to an extortionate price. So if you go think well before buying: small pearl bags and cinnamon bowls, that are just too expensive in my opinion. But then I lived in Bali and know what it is really worth.

I put together a little hamper, with a basket I found in another shop.


There is a jam – of much higher quality that the ones they produce for the local market and sold at the supermarkets; a little vanilla specialty box (with salt, sugar and raw vanilla), a handmade local soap and in the big pot, there is candied fruit. When we get there I will wrap some celophane around et voila! A little pressy from Mauritius.

Seems like the sun decided to come out and say bye bye for today… I need to start packing now!

IMG_6064

6 thoughts on “Little hamper from Mauritius

Leave a Reply

