The gardens, the lunch at Domaine des Aubineaux

I have already posted about the magnificent colonial house at Domaine des Aubineaux. The gardens were just as beautiful, a real pleasure to walk around in. It kind of threw me back in time. Closing my eyes, I could just imagine Madame, with her parasol, taking a stroll with a close friend in the gardens surrounding the house and later enjoying tea on the lawn.

I was talking to the grand mother of one of kiddos 1 friend’s; she grew up in Curepipe. She told me that when she was small and they would, on a Sunday, take the car and pass the house, her siblings and herself, would always ask their father to slow down, or even stop the car. They wanted if there was anyone in the gardens. They would then talk about how people lived in the big house, in the shade of the camphor trees.

The Domaine also caters for lunch (and even breakfast on Sundays). The setting is lovely, either in the winter garden or outside on the front porch of the house. I sat outside on the porch and enjoyed the view over the gardens.

The traditional Creole dish comes with rice, a grain, a satini (can be a tomato salsa or a cold eggplant purée) and ‘un grain’, that would be a lentil soup. I had fish in peanut sauce, that was cooked in banana leaf. I was a bit disappointed with the sauce, it wasn’t really what I expected. The lentil soup was very nice though and so was the salsa. Their menu is very Creole – with salty fish, rougailles (tomato sauce warm dish) and other specialities on there. I had a Phoenix (our local beer) and a coffee. I paid something along Rs510 (US$15). It’s on the more expensive side for locals, but as a tourist it’s on par with other places of same standard.

2 thoughts on “The gardens, the lunch at Domaine des Aubineaux

Leave a Reply

