Planning our trip to La Réunion

Yay! Family holidays getting planned in the little house. The actual planning is nearly – i did say nearly – as exciting as the holiday part. I love planning! Am not a list kinda girl so you probably will never get the ’10 things to do’ kinda post on my blog. The only lists I make is the things I want to visit. But am I excited? Yes, very much!

Tickets? Check! The good thing about Réunion island is that it is just a 55min flight – no time zones (YAY!!) and the hotel is not that far away from the airport! so it’s all good.

Hotel? Check! We are staying in the South of the Island, in what seems to be a little jewel – am so looking forward to it… I’ll share it all! However a little teaser…

Palm
Source: Anthurium.com

Just my kind of place to hang out.

Car rental? Not completely check yet, work in progress still. Réunion Island is one of these places that’s best self driven. There are many things to explore, taxis are very expensive and when travelling with kids I like to be free and not having a ‘grumpy?!’ taxi driver to worry about.

Activities… the very important part! In Mauritius, we have lovely beaches and a few mountains… well on Réunion island, they have a few beaches but very nice mountains and an active volcano! Le Piton de la Fournaise. The island is packed with outdoor activities – hidden waterfalls, trails and hikes, beaches… I have my eye on a few things I would like to do, but this is a family holiday so I don’t always run the show! So let’s wait and see.

img_3821
La Réunion, Piton La Fournaise

Here are a few other shots from the plane when I went to Cape Town.

oooops sorry! The last one was just to cheers to the holidays.

So the volcano and the mountains are a big thing there. Food is also something to look forward to and the most important some family quality time! We haven’t had a family holiday for months, more than a year really – so we are all looking forward to it!

2 thoughts on “Planning our trip to La Réunion

Thanks for your comments!

