Week-end trip to Cape Town, part 5


I left the historical Cape Town behind me and headed to the V&A Waterfront to finally find my husband.

one-and-only-cape-town-aerial-view
source: One&Only Resorts

Now I had not decided to start blogging again yet, so I don’t really have any pictures of the hotel as such and that is ashamed because it is a beautiful property.  But oh wow! I have a South African friend, from Cape Town, who told me she loves the One & Only Cape Town and I do understand why! What a gem of a hotel. I was greeted by a lovely doorman and brought to the reception area. My husband had already checked in, so I got a key.  I was a bit early so stopped in the lobby bar for a little glass of bubbles.

one-and-only-bar
Source: SouthAfricanHotels.com

They have this great Cape mousseux called, Le Lude. A pink delight! I liked it so much that I bought a couple of bottles with me home – I was lucky enough that they sell it at the duty free shop at the airport in Cape Town.

fullsizeoutput_1077
My favourite mousseux! Cape Style

We had just a normal room, but still it was a very nice size, with a super comfy king size bed, an awesome bathroom and a lovely small terrace with a view over the residential area of the waterfront and a small glimpse of Table Mountain. If you do get a chance to stay there, try to get a room high up, you’d get an awesome view! I already mentioned these products, but here as well they are using Charlotte Rhys is the bathroom. I found it too masculine for me but apparently they created Victor specially for the One and Only – and my husband liked it very much so I got him some.

one-and-only-cape-town-island-superior-king-double-queen
Source: One&Only Resorts
IMG_5835
Charlotte Rhys product

That evening we went out for dinner on the Waterfront. Very lively and buzzy place.

We walked around a little, there are many many restaurants, we were a bit later than we should have been, when without reservation, so there were many places where we had to wait to get a table, too hungry to wait! So we chose Belthazar, and I have to say I was a bit disappointed. If I should guess they are victim of their own success. Our waiter was great, but my starter though tasty was cold and both my husband and I had to send our meats back because over done – the guys in the kitchen must send out 100s of pieces of meat a day, so it’s a bit a shame that they don’t get it right. Maybe we were unlucky… However the bread and bolognese you get as appetiser was amazing. They also have the biggest selection of wines by the glass (up to 250 of the Cape’s finest ones) and they have a huge selection of wine in general. That was a nice side to our meal.

It was still a nice evening with better meat than we can get in Mauritius and oh so cheap when you compare the quality and how much is on your plate with what you get on the island.

One thought on “Week-end trip to Cape Town, part 5

  1. Pingback: What to do in 3 days in Cape Town – Wandering Expat Family

Thanks for your comments!

