Proud mummy! and chocolate cake

As I said in my last post, we had teacher-parents meeting yesterday. I am very happy to have 2 quick and pretty clever kids – they are well balanced and do well in school. I don’t expect anything less, but I don’t push them academically either. I believe that each kid evolve in their own time. Some are good at one thing, some at another. I once had a philosophy teacher, Monsieur Rozsavolgyi, he was Hungarian of origin. I always loved his name, I suppose you could translate it by the valley of roses. M. Rozavolgyi might have been a bit disillusioned with his philosophy students, but he always said “in everyone one of you there is a Mozart” – implying I suppose that if we were not great philosophers it was ok, we might be good at something else. I apply that to my kids as well. I haven’t quite found my Mozart-side yet, but I keep looking – you never know, maybe one day I will find something at which I excel.

Back to the kiddos. The reason I am proud is not the academics, but the other things the teachers write about my children. My eldest one who is 7, kiddos 1, ‘is happy to assist others’, ‘reads with intonation’, ‘shares her knowledge’ ‘is committed to succeed’. My smallest one who is 5, kiddos 2, ‘is courteous and has good manners’, ‘follows the rules and cooperates with the teacher and classmates’, ‘wants to be a vet because he likes animals, even crocodiles’. And this puts a big smile on mummy’s face.

Tomorrow is ‘bring and share’ and civvies day. So the kids get to wear what they want, but then have to pay Rs50 to the teacher. It’s a way to raise funds to the Year 5 and Year 6 educational trips. And they also get to bring in cakes and other goodies and share with the class. The kiddos both want me to bake: one a big cake, the other cupcakes.

I usually bake very simple cakes – not too sweet. I find it works best for the kids. Though mine have started asking more and more for icing!!

So here is my ‘very easy chocolate cake’:

  • 175g soften butter
  • 165g caster sugar (I always use brown sugar, I prefer the taste to the white stuff)
  • approx 170g eggs (that’s 4 medium, or 3 large)
  • 150g self raising flour (sifted)
  • 50g unsweetened cacao (sifted)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

How to prepare it:

  1. Heat the oven to 180c. and slightly butter a cake tin (18cm). I put a piece of baking paper at the bottom, so it doesn’t stick.
  2. I beat the butter and sugar first. then add all the other ingredients and slowly beat till it’s mixed. maybe 40sec til a minute. Don’t over mix or the cake because heavy. It’s the same trick as the muffins.
  3. Pour into the cake tin and put in the middle of the oven for 45-50min or til a toothpick comes out clean from the center of the cake.
  4. Let the cake sit 5 minutes and then put it on a rack to cool down.

If you want to sweeten the cake a bit up I suggest you add frosting to it before serving. Make sure the cake is completely cooled down before.

So up at 5am to do some frosting and then I threw on some smarties/m&ms/whatever I could find in the cupboard this morning, I thought it looked a bit dull otherwise for the  small kiddos.

You might notice the little owl on the first picture. My kiddos 1 made that for her teacher, as Ms D loves owls. Kiddos 1 creativity is just so cute. This is the type of thing she would she go to her room and do.

In a few hours is holdays! Yay! One happy mum 🙂 Need to plan lots of fun things now.

Thanks for your comments!

