Something about me

I wasn’t really going to write today. I had my other post already to go and posted already, because I knew it was going to be a busy one, today; and it was. We left the house super early (before 7-early), the kiddos had their swimming gala and then they do quad/motorcycling after school so it’s now 5:30pm and we just came home.

The kiddos had a great time – showing off all their new swimming skills… and they love the quad and motorcycling. I would have liked to be kid and be allowed to do those kind of activities after school. Anyways, as the tittle insinuates, well I learned something about myself. Or rather I discovered something.

I am far too rule-abiding.

It’s a good thing right? except when I discover that once in a while I could make my life so much easier if I just tried not to be. Let me explain.

We are nearing end of term. The kids break up on Friday, for a 3 weeks holiday. YAY! Super excited, I love having the kids at home, we can do stuff; and I don’t get to be up at 5:30! So tomorrow the kids don’t have class because there is parent-teacher day: I get to meet with the teachers from both classes, and hopefully hear how absolutely amazing my kiddos are. Now I drive 40km (that’s 25miles) to just bring the kids to school. The teachers send me a time (11am for one and 11:30am for another). Great! yes? no! because today I discovered that I could just have asked the teachers to meet earlier so I wouldn’t have had to drive tomorrow. You get my point? For me, if tomorrow is the day to meet the teachers, then tomorrow is the day. Even if it means I have to drive. But no! All I have to do is ask to meet with a teacher on a normal school day and I wouldn’t have had to drive.  But I would never have dreamt of asking because for me it doesn’t make sense and in my eyes I would be rude to ask if I didn’t have a reason! I was just happy with the fact that my appointment was quite late in the morning so I didn’t have to get up at 5:30am.

Then I go to my coffee shop. I walk past and see that even though the staff are there, there is still the closed sign: so I wait. yes? no!! When at 9am they take the ‘closed’ sign away… I go in! and I tell the barista (who knows me quite well), ordering my coffee, that they used to open at 8:30 so why did they change. He told me they do open at 8:30, but as most of the time they are not completely ready they don’t change the sign, but I should just come in.

I tell you, far too rule-abiding! Though I strongly believe some could learn from me, I also believe that I have to accept and adapt to the fact that I live on a tropical island and not in Denmark or Switzerland anymore.

Cultural differences are great!

Live and learn.

2 thoughts on “Something about me

Leave a Reply

