Recipe: homemade yogurt

A few months back there was a discount on yogurt makers and I bought one, not knowing if I was really going to use it. But you know what? It is probably one of the best kitchen appliances I have ever had. I absolutely love it and I use it twice a week.

It is so easy to make yogurts. At least when you have one of these. Mine comes with 7 small pots but I just bought some more in a different design so I can make more and don’t have to wait for all the glasses to be finished. My glasses are 150ml, so a bit bigger than a standard french yogurt.

It takes a bit of trying to find the right milk and yogurt to use – the fat content will play a lot on the texture, the length of cooking and the sourness of the result.

I use a plain, full fat yogurt, 3.3% fat. Then I use semi skim milk – my preferred is the one on the picture with 2% fat – but I can not get it anymore, so I am trying new milks at the moment – the one I had today was 1.5% fat. Then I use 3 table spoon of powdered milk, same low fat. All the things I use are on the pics below. 

I read a few things before I did my first try and it worked very well so I stick to it:

  • Never use metal, apparently it can disturb the ferment in the yogurt. So I use a glass bowl and dough spoon-thingy (like on the pics).  I have no clue if it’s correct, but I am not going to try any other way. 
  • I mix 1 yogurt (100ml) and the 3 spoons of powdered milk.
  • I slowly add the milk and make sure everything is nicely mixed, no small bits of powder anywhere.
  • Et voilà! That’s it.
  • for my 2% fat milk I used to cook for 8-8h30 hours, today I extend it a bit to 9h-9h30 as the milk has slightly less fat content. I got the impression from all the recipes that I checked that the lower the fat content, the more the yogurts have to cook. They are still cooking now.
  • I have never tried to add any kind of taste as 3 of us in the family eat plain. Kiddos 2 is the only one who eats flavoured yogurts so I make a fruit coulis (mango, apple or something else) and I add before serving. It’s perfect.

— 

A little update, my yogurts are great. So I guess my theory on cooking time vs fat content is correct. The less fat the more you need to leave the yogurts.

Also I have never tried without a yogurt maker. You can do it in a pot on the stove but you will need a thermometer to keep at the right temperature. There are lots of recipes online, written by people who are much more into yogurt making than me! But I am really happy making then myself. I you are a big yogurt fan it’s defenitely worth it. 
 

4 thoughts on “Recipe: homemade yogurt

  1. Very cool that you are making your own yogurt. Everything is better homemade, right? And that is a pretty handy appliance. My kiddos are yogurt fanatics, so I am sure they would be happy happy happy if I ever made it for them at home…

    Like

  2. Is homemade yogurt kind of sticky and stretchy and sour? I ate yogurt almost everyday during break time when I was teaching in Korea. It was always in a paper cup not a store bought container. I wonder if the school was making it…

    Like

    1. Heum. I dont know 🙂 might have been, but i suppose its quite an efford to make if you sell lots of it! That for an industrial kitchen. You can make it sour, but then i guess its more grainy. But who knows maybe they had a yogurt maker fan in the canteen staff 🙂

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

