Yay! it’s Saturday morning

Even though I think the weeks go by pretty fast, I cannot wait for Saturday morning to come. And this weekend: there is nothing planned! Yay! Kids were asking for playdates and nature walks, but really I need… peace. It’s not often that I call a halt but today I have decided I do nothing. I mean, as much nothing as a mum of 2 can get away with.

Of all of the week-end, Saturday mornings are always what I prefer. Before we left the UK (in 2010), it was our lazy morning. My husband used to work till 3-4am, so he needed to sleep. I would make my coffee and put on Saturday Live Kitchen, or whatever these cooking programs were called and just do nothing. Pure bliss. I do miss these programs. Nobody can make cooking programs like the Brits.

Well no cooking programs here, for starters, they are not on the TV and the kids are taking over the crazy-box with cartoons anyway. They never have the time to watch during the week, so that’s them sorted (for as long as it lasts) on Saturday mornings.

The first thing I do – well that is the first thing I do every morning, religiously, (except maybe in case of big hangover): I prepare my coffee. It took me a long time to find a coffee I like. They roast the coffee beans very hard here on the Island, so the coffee tend to be very acidic – something I don’t particularly like. Or should I say: particularly don’t like. I enjoy a round and full bodied coffee. Strong, black. I love coffee – some would say I drink too much, probably true, but it’s a matter of survival and no headaches.

ac9a65a95e7a63d80b22a8358c4fa824

But the coffee is as important as the mug I drink it in. I don’t have many things from Denmark, unfortunately. But the few things I have are very important to me. For my coffee I use 2 of them: both of Danish Design.

IMG_5339

In case you didn’t know Bodum is Danish. It was created in 1944 by Peter Bodum and is still today a 100% family owned business, with his kids owing the company and the son being the CEO. In the early years, Peter was importing glassware to Denmark and came across vacuum coffee makers. He made his first coffee maker in the early 1950s. In 1974, his son Jørgen took over the company and launched Bistro, the first French Press by Bodum. It was back then selected as the most environmental friendly coffee maker and received many International and Danish design awards. In 2016 their products are sold in 55 countries and today it is one of these companies that make me proud of being Danish.

“Good design doesn’t have to be expensive,” Peter Bodum (founder on Bodum).

My cup is probably one of my favourite pieces of porcelain. I have 4 of them and I love them. They come from Royal Copenhagen. The company was founded by one of our Queens, Juliane Marie, widow of King Frederik V. She became Queen when the son of the former King got mentally ill and couldn’t govern anymore. She was a very strong woman and her greatest legacy is the founding of Royal Danish Porcelain Factory in 1775. The unique factory mark (the lady was also into marketing) was used to start each piece of Royal Copenhagen porcelain: the crown and the 3 waves. Still found on all their porcelain today. They are all hand painted.

FullSizeRender 2

This is the underneath of one of my cups. It shows the crown, the waves and the signature of the painter.

My little mug has passed through 30 pairs of hands. It’s a true little piece of art and I enjoy my coffee in it every single day. Oh! Another reason to be proud to be Danish. Our Queen Margrethe II has also designed some things for Royal Copenhagen. Go and have a look on their website, their stuff is just gorgeous.

A little fun note on European history: In the 1700 and 1800’s it was good diplomacy, amongst royals and aristocrats, to give fine porcelain as gifts. In 1801, Denmark lost the battle of Copenhagen against the British. Lord Nelson (famous British Naval Commander)  bought Royal Copenhagen porcelain back home to his mistress Lady Hamilton as a gift.

Well this was not at all what I had planned for my post today, but there you go a little bit about my home country Denmark. Always well know for their design, with a good reason.

And by the way, at 9am the quietness that comes with kids being in front of the TV ended, and questions like ‘what are we doing today? can we go to the pool now? why are you still drinking coffee, mummy?’ started. It is now 9:30 and my head is spinning with ??? so that was that quiet Saturday morning – not as long as I wanted, but not too bad.

Hope you enjoy yours!

2 thoughts on “Yay! it’s Saturday morning

  1. Helle

    Hi there
    How funny I just realise that you are from Denmark when I read this blog.
    We have just moved here with 3 girls from Copenhagen.
    Not many danes here
    (Skrev på engelsk, ved ikke om du taler/skriver dansk 😄)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hej Helle! Well I can read it very well, but my written Danish is like postcard level 😀 – I never actually went to school. You moved to Mauritius? Where are you? Get in touch via ‘Contact me’ on my blog if you wish

      Like

Thanks for your comments!

