Week-end trip to Cape Town, Part 2

Younger, I would just wake up when I had slept enough. But now, since I became an adult (kids, responsibilities – the real stuff) I wake up when I am used to. In creole they say ‘mo someil pe casse a 4h’, meaning ‘my sleep was broken at 4’ – and literately with the jet lag and waking up at 4 – I felt a bit ‘broken’. The good thing was that I had had my breakfast and was out and about at 7:30. Here are a few views of the city on the way.

I arrived at the Castle of Good Hope for my first visit of the day. They are doing a few renovations at the moment, so the 2 museums were closed, but there is still much to see. They have guided tours everyday (11am, 12pm and 2pm) – I didn’t do it as I was limited in time, but I am sure it’s worth it. I did enjoy it very much though. The Castle is known to be the oldest surviving building in South Africa, built in the second part of 17th century. It was the centre for both political and military affairs through centuries.

I continued my walk to the District 6 Museum. District 6 was established there in the 19th century, it was a mixed community (freed slaves, immigrants, merchants, coloured…). The first to be forced out were the black South Africans in the beginning of the 20th century. Then on 11 February 1966 it was declared a white area: more than 60’000 people were forced away from their homes and community and the area was completely bulldozed. District 6 has become one of the big icons against Apartheid in Cape Town.

IMG_4012
on the outside wall of the District 6 museum

You can read more on the mass removals on a very interesting website: South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, building democracy. I didn’t go to District Six – I decided that it was the type of place where I needed a guide to completely understand the place, so it is on the list for the next Cape Town trip!

The museum is an old church and I thought the visit was very intense. There are also guided tours inside. It is so full of information that you are completely overwhelmed. They have a little cute cafe inside the museum, where you can sit a little cake and a coffee, to take it all in.

I continued my walk to the slave tree.

15 thoughts on “Week-end trip to Cape Town, Part 2

  1. Welcome to FarawayFiles community! We are happy to have your contribution. I enjoyed your perspective of Cape Town, a place I would really love to get to know better and see for myself. Look forward to more from you! Cheers from Copenhagen, Erin #FarawayFiles

    Like

  2. Pingback: What to do in 3 days in Cape Town – Wandering Expat Family

Thanks for your comments!

