Dark Mornings

There are a few things I don’t like in the morning. Like when my coffee has gone just that cold that it isn’t really enjoyable to drink anymore. It’s not cold cold, like an ice-coffee gone warm, but it has just lost that little warmth that I find comforting. Then I don’t like when I use the shampoo in my hand to wash with instead of putting it in my hair. I don’t like when the kids are grumpy because they went to bed too late: they had to finish a chapter in a book or they had to find the cat to say good night, and that took an hour because the cat was on the roof and not decided to come down on the kiddos demands. All these are at least weekly occurings – normal stuff.

But there is one thing I despise more than these things… I don’t like to get up before the sun. That feeling I get when it is still pitch dark outside when I get out of bed, is just well, one of self pity, haha – nah not really but I really don’t like it. I don’t particularly enjoy getting up, but when it is still night, well it’s just not fair, *stomping my feet*… Shock, horror: this morning it was that dark. So while you people in the Northern Hemisphere are starting to notice that your days are getting longer… well I have to deal with dark mornings – fair enough, it is still 30 degrees + during the day, but the sun is sleeping when I get up.

When friends and family ask me if I’d ever return to Europe to live – I can honsetly reply that if I can avoid it, I will. And that is one of the reasons… that thing, it happens to you all through winter. I feel for you, I really do. I mean, I have winter too here but the temperature rarely drops under 15 degrees during the night, so it’s like when the sun is up, you can forgive it for being late.

IMG_4419
Took this as we were leaving for school

One of my UK friends posted this on her Facebook this morning and I just knew that I had to share with this post:

IMG_4415 2

But you see that is the thing we don’t have (never) when living in the tropics… late evenings with daylight, these evening when at 10pm it is still dusk – when the days are the longest here you might still get a tiny bit of light at 7:30pm… but at 7:35 it is dark night.

But hey! one can’t have everything, not even in paradise.

Leave a Reply

