Week-end pancakes (take 2)

Now that is weird… I prepared the post, scheduled it… and it posted blank? or the text disappeared somewhere, sometime in cyberspace. I have no clue. I can’t do anything but writing it again…

But it is actually super hard to re-write something that I was quite happy about.

It was about early wake ups and pancakes. Isn’t it funny how are children always seem to be up early on the week-ends, but on school days you actually need to pull them out of  their beds? Well mine are no exception and Saturday mornings usually start with a cuddle, a kiss and a “mummy, am hungry”followed very closely by: “let’s make pancakes”.

I have used the same recipe over the years and I love it.  Pancakes USA Stylie, by Jamie Oliver. The recipe comes from his Happy Days with the Naked Chef, one of his first books – back when he still looked like a kid, ha!

img_4366

The kids love these and I do too – I feel less guilty eating them *big grin* than if I was baking crèpes or waffles – no added cooking fat and more proteins per pop. The only thing is they seem to disappear faster as well.

Kiddo 2 has been making them since he was toddler – back when we lived in Bali and he got me out of bed before the crack of dawn… every single day. And now the kiddos can prepare the dough all by themselves: the big one is weighing and measuring, small is mixing it all together: everybody is happy! and mammy steps in just to do the baking.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Recipe (serves 2-4) 

  • 3 large eggs – separated
  • 115g plain flour
  • 1 heaped tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 140ml milk

In one bowl whisk the whites and salt till they are stiff. In another bowl whisk the egg yolks. flour, baking powder and milk till smooth. Add the whites to the dough, combining first half the egg whites then adding the rest. The Dough should be thick but light and smooth. On a non-stick pan make your pancakes: they can small or big your choice! Pancakes are so versatile, you can have them sweet or savoury. Jamie Oliver swears than adding fresh corn is amazing… and he gives lots of other suggestions to toppings. I have never tried, the kiddos prefer them baked plain.

img_4373

Usually the kiddos enjoy them with Nutella – they love the stuff (and so do I, by the way) – but lately I haven’t bought any. To start with there is all the bad press Ferrero gets concerning child labour, they swear it’s not true, but when such allegations are made – they are hard to ignore. The second reason is the Palm Oil – that is true and that is also bothering me, so sadly no more Nutella in the house. The other brands are just not as good, and I have never tried the recipe to make it myself, I have one somewhere, maybe I should try. However, I made chocolate muffins just before the week-end and had some butter frosting left – and that was yum!

 

3 thoughts on “Week-end pancakes (take 2)

Leave a Reply

