Monday morning

We live in Belle Mare, on the East Coast. A couple of times a week I go for a swim at one of the nearby hotels, the Long Beach Resort and Spa. I like the lifestyle feel of the hotel, a bit more modern and somewhat different to others on the island. This morning, coming back from dropping the kids of at school, I braved the wind and clouds. I went for my swim. I have to admit it was a bit cold, one does get used to nice and warm water when living in the tropics, but once i got going it was ok. They have a nice infinity pool, adults only – with a beautiful view over the lagoon. Why oh why I have no picture is a mystery – I just can’t find one…

To warm up after the swim I had a latte. Now, I love coffee and I usually drink it black because I really like the taste of the stuff. But I need to up my calcium intake and went for a latte instead. I don’t really like milk, so I have double shot expresso to take away the taste. I do like the foam though, and the waiter knows that. It was perfect.

img_4396

And while enjoying my latte. I started on a new book. I try to read as much as I can, I unfortunately don’t  always get the time. Adventurous Holidays by Collection Maurice. It is a collection of Short Stories written by Mauritian authors. Some stories are in English, some in French and others in Creole. This is the 22nd edition (a 23rd came out in Dec 2016).

img_4397

I think this is a great way of getting authors recognised – they have a different ways of telling stories, more intimate. Thy get a central theme they have to write about in their own way; the theme changes every year, the 23rd edition is a collection of ‘Sporty stories’, the 21st ‘Dining and Wining’ – all themes close to the daily life. I read the first short story A Golden Summer by Yogeenee Veerapen. Can’t wait to get on with the book.

img_4400
Shores Bar, Long Beach Hotel
img_4401
View from the Shores Bar

The weather is slowly getting better, the sun has even come out as I am writing. Enawo is still somewhere out of Madagascar, expected to gain in intensity and to hit tomorrow during the day. Let’s have a little thought for the Malagasy people, they are going to need it.

SWI$06_20162017.png

2 thoughts on “Monday morning

  1. I once lived in Kuwait where we are 5 minutes away from the beach. We have sea views from our bedroom and we love the beach life. On early mornings I just jog around and on cooler months, we pack a picnic and just laze around.
    This is one of the things I miss now that we live in Germany where it takes hours drive to reach the nearest beach, it’s actually not the same.

    Great pastime..keep it up! I am a book + coffee kind of person. Just like you, I wished I had all the time in the world. So many books to read, so little time, add the life with a toddler ;p)))

    Like

Leave a Reply

